ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

#50: Learn How To Make Homemade Noodles July 15, 2009

Filed under: 101 in 1001 — ericamay @ 7:05 am

I’m crossing off another item on my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a challenge where you get to choose just how much you want to challenge yourself! :) I started my list about a year ago and created 101 things that I wanted to do before the end of 1001 days. I’m making progress!

This past weekend, when I was visiting my family, my mom and I set out to make homemade noodles. And, since this is a photography blog, we documented the process. :)

I love homemade noodles. Seriously love them. And I always thought that they must be difficult to make… but I was wrong. Sure, it takes some time… but it’s not hard!

Like any good recipe, there really isn’t an exact recipe. Here’s what we included:

  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Salt
  • A tiny bit of cream

We started with the trusty KitchenAid stand mixer.

noodles01 copy

And a bowl with 4 cups of flour. To this bowl, we added a 1:1 ratio of eggs to flour — creating a little “bowl” in the flour to pour the eggs into. We added the salt (to taste, depending on how big your batch is), and a tiny bit of cream.

noodles02 copy

Then we let the mixer do its job for a while until the dough was thick and a little bit dry (you don’t want it to look like cookies or bread — noodles have to be must more dried out!).

Then, we floured our surface (which we of course cleaned thoroughly) and set about rolling out the dough as thin as we could get it, making sure to flour both sides regularly to keep them from getting sticky!

noodles04 copy

noodles05 copy

noodles06 copy

Then, we rolled the dough and cut very, very thin noodles. Some people make thicker or wider noodles and that’s totally up to your preference! Here’s our pile of noodles when we were finished cutting:

noodles07 copy

Then, we just cooked them! :) I can’t remember for sure how long… maybe 30 minutes? Ha ha. I’d obviously be calling my mom again at that step when I make them on my own. :) We cooked them with chicken breast in chicken broth that had been on the stove for the entire time we were creating the noodles.

noodles09 copy

noodles08 copy

I don’t have any photos of the finished product, because we ate them way too fast. Yum!! :)

Anyway, here’s to crossing off another item on my list of things to do! :)

 

5 Responses to “#50: Learn How To Make Homemade Noodles”

  1. Emily Beaty Says:

    oh wow – i’m impressed! that’s so cool!

  2. [...] See original here: #50: Learn How To Make Homemade Noodles « ericamay photography … [...]

  3. jenifriend Says:

    i have to know; how long did it take you from start to finish on this project? this is certainly something i’m interested in trying out!!

  4. Melissa Says:

    Our “secret” family recipe is now out on the http://www…jk…how fun to document the tradition!

  5. Melinda Says:

    Now you know Grandma Tractor’s bestest recipe (Noodles) and Grandma May’s (Bierocks)!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.