ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Week 9: Objects that tell something about you March 2, 2008

Filed under: Weekly Photography Challenge — ericamay @ 9:58 pm

This is kind of a cheesy story, but one that has made an impact on my life. I will never forget this story that my mom told me when she was working as a respiratory therapist. She told me once that a woman who she was taking care of said, “You have the most beautiful hands.” My mom replied, “Oh, no! These hands? I never have a manicure…” and the lady said, “Dear…it’s not what your hands look like, it’s what you choose to do with them.”

I must have been about 10 years old when my mom told me that. I always complain about my flat fingernails and my chubby knuckles and all of that, but as I grow older, I realize that my hands look more and more like my mom’s. And what I do with them is hopefully making a difference. I might not be healing people’s physical ailments, but I hope that sometime in my life I can use my hands to reach out.

So here’s a photo of my hand…something that, according to the woman in the hospital, defines a person. On my finger is the wedding band and diamond ring given to me by the one person who understands me better than all other people in this entire world. I am probably the most happily married woman ever. Jeffrey is the most kindhearted, encouraging and wonderful person I’ve ever met. And knowing him and being his wife is what has really helped shape me into the person I am today. I love him. And the beautiful ring I wear every day as a reminder of our lifelong commitment to each other. I am blessed. SO blessed.

dsc_0256.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

