ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Petey-boy. July 22, 2008

“The great pleasure of a dog is that you may make a fool of yourself with him and not only will he not scold you, but he will make a fool of himself, too.” — Samuel Butler

On January 12, 2008, my life changed. For those of you who know me very well at all, you will agree that I was not historically a “dog person.” I liked them alright, as long as they weren’t barking, jumping, scratching, licking or running towards me…(what else do dogs do?).

Anyway, my life took a turn when 2 months into his little life, Jeff and I decided we couldn’t live without Petey, the cutest little runt from my mom’s dog Molly’s litter of puppies. I don’t think my parents thought I would last a week with him in our apartment.

Perhaps I blog about my dog too much…I can’t help it! There’s just something about this little guy that makes my heart melt. He has these eyes that just stare into the depths of your soul, seriously. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to have (human) children. He has brought us so much joy, entertainment, cuddles and grief that there’s no way I would ever trade this experience.

If you haven’t watched the new show Greatest American Dog on CBS, I definitely recommend it. It is quite possibly the most hilarious, enlightening reality TV show out there. You learn just as much about people as you do about dogs. Check it out, Thursday at 7 p.m. (CST).

Oh, Petey James Short, what would we do without you?

 

4 Responses to “Petey-boy.”

  1. Melissa Dinsmore Says:

    Larry and I love that show! Another favorite is Dog Whisperer…the pics of Petey and Bruce are precious. But Lola is still the Greatest Pick of the Litter!

  2. Brett Sinn Says:

    Oh, the new lens looks great. :).

  3. rachel Says:

    yeah…maybe i’ll become like you. I’m more of a “i like dogs alright as long as they aren’t barking, jumping, licking, etc.” Jonathan wants one so bad…

  4. Karen Hathaway Says:

    I was just telling Rebecca how cute your dog is (I’ve looked at some of your pictures!). If they have more puppies, let us know! Justin and I are wanting to get a miniature schnauzer:)


Leave a Reply

