ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

A different perspective September 8, 2008

This past weekend, I was able to check two more things off my 101 in 1001 list.

The first of those arrived in the form of a cardboard box…long-awaited, I might add. I ordered a wide-angle lens quite some time ago, the Tokina 11-16 2.8 (task number 37 on the list of things to do). Now, for those of you photography nerds out there, I know you’re probably wondering why I ordered that one instead of the comparable Nikkor lens (being the Nikon addict that I am). Well, after researching and researching and testing out rental lenses from the local camera shop, I just wasn’t convinced by the Nikkor version. And then, this review won me over.

So I ordered the Tokina, thinking that if it wasn’t high-grade, I could use it just for fun. Well, I am so impressed. I got to test it out during our weekend trip to St. Louis for Jeff’s birthday (also helping me cross off number 12 from my list!). It’s sturdy, quiet, fast and sharp.

I’m excited to try this out over the next several weeks to form my final opinion, but I must say, I am pleasantly surprised and very pleased with it. Welcome, Tokina 11-16, to my Nikon family.

 

One Response to “A different perspective”

  1. klsumpter Says:

    Wow, you are just on a roll on your 101 list! I’ve started a lot of mine, but haven’t yet finished them….I’m such a procrastinator!


Leave a Reply

