ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Fall Family Portraits: The Harrells November 2, 2008

The morning of the Harrell’s family session, the air was so thick with fog I couldn’t even see the sign for the Overland Park Arboretum! It ended up being a wonderful backdrop and great weather for their session!

With younger kids, it’s always great to choose a location where kids can be kids and have a little bit of fun exploring and being themselves. The Overland Park Arboretum has neat trails that are not only great for photos but for letting the kids play. Since a session with me is not as still and formal as a studio session, we can get some great shots of kids being who they are. I love how these shots of Luke and Lauren turned out!

See what I mean about kids being kids? :)

And if this isn’t completely precious sibling love, I don’t know what is…

The Harrells have to be one of the most photogenic families I’ve ever met. They look so naturally “posed” in these shots — I love it. It helps that Lauren is quite the little model…I can always count on 8-year-old girls to tie it all together. :)

They also chose great colors to wear for the session, which was especially helpful since we ended up with a very foggy, subdued background. Bright colors like this that complement each other are wonderful for family sessions!

I love seeing photos of me with my parents when I was younger. I hope these shots are a treasure for the parents right now, and can someday be fun and special reminders of childhood for the kids!

Some more fun shots of the kiddos!

Great job, you guys! You were such a joy to photograph…thanks for a really fun session, and enjoy your photos! :)

 

2 Responses to “Fall Family Portraits: The Harrells”

  1. Mandy Hank Says:

    Erica these are great family fall photos- I so wish we had leaves like this. Great job

  2. ericamay Says:

    Thanks, Mandy! Fall in Kansas has lasted so long this year, and it’s absolutely gorgeous right now! :) I’m trying to fit in as much as I can over the next few weeks to take advantage of the pretty colors and fun fall textures!


Leave a Reply

