ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Finally decorated! January 18, 2009

Most of you know that Jeff and I bought our first home at the beginning of December. Even though we’ve only been moved in for a little over a month, it’s hard to imagine what it was like to not live here. Our home just really feels like “us.” I find it so comfortable and cozy and each room has something that I just love about it. We’ve been working hard getting settled and decorated — and although a few projects remain, we’re pretty much done with the decorating!

Since so many people asked about photos of the inside and offered fun ideas for decorating, I thought I’d share with you our almost-finished product! :) So, welcome to our home! Now onto the tour…

First stop, the living room! I love this room. I don’t regret one little bit being bold and choosing a dark color to accentuate the white woodwork. I love it.  I also love the various accent pieces that we hunted for at several different stores and pulled it all together. And the large canvas print over the fireplace is one of my all-time favorite images (did you miss the previous post about it?), and it just really “speaks” to me. Petey (our dog, for those of you just joining us!) also loves the very comfy shag rug we opted for on the floor.

houselivingroom1

And the view from the other side! We have these great picture windows at the front of our house, and I love the light that pours in. I also love the little bench in front of it that I found at Target on clearance for a steal! :) A collage of our wedding photos and Petey photos hangs behind the sectional, and I love curling up with my new favorite blanket — the green one, from Crate and Barrel.

houselivingroom2

Okay, next stop, the dining room. We have archways leading into a lot of the rooms of our house, which I love. The house was built in 1925 and is what they call a “tudor” style. It has a lot of charm — really the whole reason why we picked it! :)

housearchway

housediningroom

The kitchen… the other reason why I love this house! Our apartment had this teeny tiny little kitchen with no storage space, and no room for more than one person. Cooking is fun here, because I don’t have to be all alone in the kitchen to cook something. :) I love our breakfast nook, the built-in corner cabinets, the track lighting, and the countertops!

housekitchen

My next favorite room is our bedroom upstairs. In the upstairs, our house still has all of the original wood floors which I absolutely love. They’re not perfect, but I love how distressed they are. And they don’t scratch easily. I guess 84 years of people living on them will do that. :) We chose to decorate our bedroom in browns and blues, based entirely around photos that we love from our trips to Portland and Denver. I guess in a photographer’s house, the decor is highly centered around colors in photographs. :)

housebedroom1

housebedroom2

And another large canvas we printed for our “reading corner” in the bedroom. This was taken in Denver, and was the main inspiration for our room’s color palette. 

housecanvas

Anyway, there’s a little tour for you! :) We still have some work to be done, but I can finally feel at peace and relaxed in these organized, decorated rooms! 

What do you think? Did you see any pieces that you like? If so, leave a comment and I’ll let you know where I found it! :)

 

12 Responses to “Finally decorated!”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Erica! Your house is gorgeous! Did you do all the updating, or was it done when you purchased it? I’m jealous of your kitchen – still living in an apartment…. :) Where is your house? It’s absolutely charming – I love the cabinets in breakfast nook! I think the kitchen is my favorite!

  2. Beth Says:

    Beeeeaaauuuutiful! What an awesome house! I love love LOVE the hardwoods & your canvases!

  3. Melissa B Says:

    love, love, love those older houses! The doorway arches just add so much character. I think the bold color on your living room wall is wonderful. Would you share the color? Our house needs paint, but I can’t decide on colors yet. You guys did a great job decorating! Love all the pictures.

  4. Mandy Hank Says:

    Your house is so clean- beautiful but clean! I think our house looked like that once, I think it was about 5 years old before we had kids- LOL, oh just wait! :)

  5. Mandy Hank Says:

    Your house is so clean- beautiful but clean! I think our house looked like that once, I think it was about 5 years ago(meant to say AGO) before we had kids- LOL, oh just wait! :)

  6. Kristen Says:

    I love it!!!! I love the arches, colors, everything. I like how you used your photos for the colors in your rooms. PERFECT!

  7. Justin Says:

    sis, it looks amazing! can’t wait to see it in person in a few weeks! where did you find the baker’s rack in the dining room?

  8. Emily Beaty Says:

    So pretty! Love all the colors you chose. I love older homes and the neat details!

  9. klsumpter Says:

    Oh I love it Erica!!! I’m so jealous right now! It’s just beautiful.

  10. carolyngrace Says:

    Hey! LOVE IT!!!! I can’t wait to come and see it in person sometime!

  11. Heather Says:

    Dude…I knew I seriously must have missed something, your house is just awesome, I wish I could be there to see it in person. I love all the canvas prints that are so you…that really just puts the finishing touch, or the beginning point in your house! Thanks for sharing these with us!

  12. Cara Goedecke Says:

    Your house is gorgeous! I wish I could see it sometime! Hope you are doing well! :)


Leave a Reply

