ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

An Unexpected Surprise. January 20, 2009

I received the best thoughtful gift in the mail today… all the way from Connecticut! :)

mugs2

Several weeks ago (maybe a few months now!), I had the privilege of “meeting” Betsy through my blog. Betsy stumbled across my blog through another photographer’s blog and left me a few comments (including solving the mystery of what type of plant is featured in the photograph that hangs above our fireplace!). I sent her an e-mail thanking her for “stopping by” and providing me with the answer to a question that had plagued my thoughts for so long! :)

So we got to e-mailing back and forth, and I found out that Betsy is an aspiring photographer in Connecticut who also has a very full plate besides her pursuit into the world of photography. Through our e-mails, we started up a conversation about what it’s like to start a photography business, the steps she can take to kick-start her career, tips about photography in general, and basically just have a conversation about something we both love — photography, of course! :)

I am so incredibly impressed with the way she has embraced learning, trying and pursuing her dream. It’s an awesome reminder for me of what it was like to get started (and boy, would I have loved another photographer’s opinion back then!). 

So Betsy sent us these two gorgeous, original mugs (made by her dad, a potter — how awesome is that??), a lovely note, and a Starbucks gift card (I can already taste the chai tea latte waiting for me!). I was so touched, and so in awe of the gorgeous craftsmanship of these two mugs that I had to share with the rest of you!

mugs3

mugs5

mugs4

Anyway, “mentor an aspiring photographer” is #31 on my list of 101 things to do in 1001 days. When Betsy said that I could cross that one off, I agreed to do it as long as she started her own blog and promised to keep shooting and learning. So, Betsy, I’m crossing that item off the list even though it’s a continuing process. Even though I’m always here to help and encourage and share what I’ve learned so far in my own photography journey. And for the rest of you wondering if you can venture into the world of photography — please don’t hesitate to contact me (or keep contacting me!). A line through item #31 certainly doesn’t squelch my love for helping you learn and succeed. I’m available via e-mail… me @ ericamay.com (just remove the spaces!).

I’d encourage you all view Betsy’s blog, and keep an eye on her — she’s just getting started, and she’s already doing great things!! Congratulations, Betsy, and thanks for the super sweet gift. 

mugs1

 

8 Responses to “An Unexpected Surprise.”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    Hello Erica,
    Thank you so much for all the help that you have given Betsy. She is enjoying her new hobby so much and has a “spark” that is usually hard for her to find in the winter months.
    -“Betsy’s mom and the potter’s wife”.

  2. Betsy Says:

    Erica,
    You are so kind! Your friend from La Brisa Photography left a nice comment on my site, and I wondered what ‘post’ he was talking about on Erica’s blog. What a surprise!
    I’m so honored, and appreciative of the help you’ve given me. You are definitely an excellent mentor, and I’ve enjoyed becoming friends.
    I was so excited when I saw this- calling my sisters, mom, etc.! My Dad is putting up a website soon, and I get the honor of photographing his work. Your images of the cups are so creative. ‘Love the one of the base- with the ‘Ryan’ impression.
    (And this is one of the best ‘thank you’ notes I’ve ever received!)
    :) -Betsy

  3. Hey there. You said to let you know when my 101 list was finished. So I am. Its done. You can check it out at ryanandlindsay.typepad.com. I am super excited to start crossing things off. Love the mugs by the way. Wish I had some of those.

  4. Emily Beaty Says:

    Those are awesome! What a nice and thoughtful gift. Erica, you are so nice to help others. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you. :)

  5. rachel Says:

    i so need to update my 101 list. i’m crossing things off to, you know. :) These mugs are awesome. Want to mentor me? I want to become a photographer that takes sweet photos too…only, I have no intention of starting a business, so I wouldn’t be in competition of you :)

  6. Julie Says:

    Hm, those photos would look so great hung up in a kitchen! I love them and you. I hope to see you and your new home soon! Thanks for the photo preview! :)

  7. klsumpter Says:

    How awesome are those mugs? I was going to say that once I get my camera you will be helping mentor me to :)…well you already have some, but you are awesome for helping out all those aspiring photographers!

  8. Melissa Dinsmore Says:

    What a cool story!


Leave a Reply

