ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Engagement: Kelsey and Danny in Lawrence, Kansas February 16, 2009

As promised, here’s the full post about Kelsey and Danny’s fantastic engagement session in Lawrence and on the KU campus. I knew Kelsey when we were high school-aged, but I hadn’t seen her for years until she called me after they got engaged! I had the pleasure of meeting Danny on Sunday for their session, and I just loved getting to see Kelsey and Danny interacting together. They are so completely natural in front of the camera, SO cute together, and just a really fun couple to photograph. If it’s possible, I’m even MORE excited about their wedding in August!

We started out their session in the spot where Danny proposed — in the exact booth! Choosing special locations make engagement photos that much more meaningful!

keldanbooth

keldanboothwindow

We then headed to the KU campus, to the Campanile landmark overlooking Potter’s Lake and the KU football stadium.

keldantower

A tour of this little section of the campus gave us a variety of awesome backgrounds for the session! See what I mean about these two being absolute naturals in front of the camera? :)

keldanbwdip

keldanstairs1

keldanbwlaugh

I love how classic and tender this photo is:

keldanstonewall

I also love this classic headshot of the two of them. Their bright, light-colored eyes look awesome in black and white!
keldanbwheadshot

We took a variety of photos for them to use on their save the date cards. Photos can be such a great way to personalize a save the date announcement or wedding invitation. Two very different — and very fun — options are below.
keldansavedate
keldantickets

Of course, we had to do a few family photos with their little man Brody! :) Brody is a Maltepoo and just the cutest. He gave Jeff and I lots of kisses. I think he’d be great friends with our Petey. :)
keldanfamilyphoto

A headshot for his doggie modeling career:

keldanbrody

Okay, and one more of the cute little guy with his mom! :)

keldankelseybrody

Alright, enough waiting for the football stadium photos! :) In case you missed yesterday’s post, click here to see it. As we were walking around near the football stadium, I mentioned how I’ve always wanted to shoot inside an empty stadium. Danny’s reply? “Oh, well let me make a call…” and 15 minutes later, there we were, on the 50 yard line with an entire football stadium all to ourselves. :) It was that easy! Do I have the coolest clients or what?!

So, my K-State loyalties aside, these photos are some of my favorite engagement images — so unique and personal!
keldanfield

keldanfieldupclose

keldanstadiumkiss

Jeff shot with me yesterday, so we had two perspectives on a lot of the images! My view:

keldanhug

Jeff’s view:

keldanstadium1

My view:

keldanfieldjump1

Jeff’s view:

keldanjump2

After the football field, we couldn’t go without a few shots outside Allen Fieldhouse. We wrapped up our session there. Oh my, you two are so cute!

keldanfieldhouse

keldanbwtree

Kelsey and Danny, thank you so much for making this session awesome, personal and so fun for Jeff and I. You made our job so easy! We can’t wait to capture your wedding day memories in August!

Friends and family who want to see all of their engagement photos can click here to sign the online album’s guest book. Then I’ll send you an e-mail when all of the photos are available for viewing!

 

10 Responses to “Engagement: Kelsey and Danny in Lawrence, Kansas”

  1. Beth Says:

    These are soooo great! My faves are the ones in the restaurant…way to preserve memories…you are awesome!

  2. Mandy Hank Says:

    This is one of your best sessions Erica- WOW, love your “signage”, the stadium pics are so cute! :)

  3. Kelsey Says:

    Erica is an extremely talented photographer (as you can obviously tell!)…however, what makes her extraordinary is her ability to put her clients at ease with her amazing personality. She is just a delight to be around and wonderful to work with. Jeff is pretty okay too! :)

    Danny and I are so thrilled with the pictures and had an such a blast during the shoot. Erica May Photography is AWESOME!

    Thanks again! Can’t wait to work with you again for the wedding!

  4. Emily Beaty Says:

    What a FUN session!!! I love the signs for the save the date, love the sun flare on the third image, and LOVE the stadium images! SO fun!

  5. Sarah Jeanne Says:

    I love these pictures!!!!

  6. Chris Says:

    Love #3! I know you’re not a huge fan of flare, but that is just awesome!!!

    Also doesn’t hurt when you have an absolutely gorgeous and fun couple!

    Can’t wait to see their wedding pics!!! :)

  7. Kristen Says:

    Those are cute! Even though they were taken in Memorial Stadium. :D Great job lady!

  8. […] maltese, poodle, puppy photos I couldn’t help myself. I had to share a few more photos of Kelsey and Danny’s adorable 2-year-old Maltepoo, Brody! He a Maltese-Poodle mix (obviously!) and is so […]

  9. […] big thank you to Oliver’s Aunt Kelsey for setting up this session. :) He’s such a cutie!! Can’t wait to see how big […]

  10. […] Jeff and I have been looking forward to their wedding day all year, especially after their awesome engagement session. Their wedding day was exactly what we expected it to be — a celebration of their love. These […]


Leave a Reply

