ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

New Photo Disc Packaging! February 20, 2009

I think I’ve always had a thing for ribbons. Rainbow colored ribbons on bike handles. Big shiny ribbons on Christmas packages. Blue-and-gold ribbons in my hair during my high school cheerleading days. I’m a girl. A very girly girl. And like any girly girl, I like ribbons and bows and all sorts of pretty things.

So why should it be any different when it comes to my business packaging? :)

I got this idea a while back from the awesome Justin & Mary (who are wizards at branding and beautiful packaging!) and I haven’t been able to let it go since. I wanted personalized ribbon. Beautiful, classy ribbon with my business name printed right on the strands… green, of course.

ribbon2

My business is all about personalization. On a wedding day, my clients know that their wedding photography experience is going to be customized and tailored to their personalities and their special day. My portrait clients know that we’ll pick spots that are meaningful to them or that let me capture their emotions in a relaxed way, so the photos are a true reflection of the people they are.

So I struggled with how to present these images in a way that is personal to me and my brand. As most of you know, I am a big believer in my clients having access to their digital files. A disc of the high-resolution, edited images is included with every wedding and potrait package I offer. So, I was left with this challenge: how do you personalize a disc? How do I deliver a final product that fits the entire experience?

The answer came in a spool of ribbon. :)

ribbon1

And some lovely and compact CD tins. And a new, beautiful printer.

ribbon3

So enjoy your packaged discs, wrapped up in ericamay photography ribbon.

Go ahead, it’s okay to tie it in your hair.  :)

 

14 Responses to “New Photo Disc Packaging!”

  1. Rebecca Says:

    What a fun idea! Your clients are so lucky…

  2. Looks GREAT! I love the custom ribbon!

  3. Sarah Jeanne Says:

    OMG Erica! We were meant to be great friends, because I’m a huge fan of ribbon too!! Especially putting it in my hair! This probably comes from being a cheerleader as well!! I put one in my hair the other day since it had been awhile, and o the compliments!! haha

    What a great idea!! So unique but so you!

  4. Alison Says:

    Pretty :)

  5. Andrea Says:

    Erica – every time I visit your blog I want to get married again (to the same guy, of course!) to have you take my engangement/wedding pictures! They are all so gorgeous and I love the ribbon idea. (green’s my fav. too)

  6. Beth Says:

    This looks great Erica! I love the ribbon!

  7. Melissa Dinsmore Says:

    What an awesome idea!

  8. Jamie Says:

    GREAT idea! I can’t wait to have my Erica May CD :)

  9. Christy Says:

    Love the tins and ribbon.. where do you find them>?

  10. Melissa Says:

    What type of printer did you use to print on the disc??

    Love the packaging!

  11. Laurie Says:

    I love your CD packaging! I am looking for a good printer that will print directly on the CDs. May I ask what kind you use? I am afraid of sinking alot of money into a piece of junk :). Thank you! Love your work!
    Laurie

  12. Jess Says:

    This is a great idea!

  13. Katie Says:

    I am also a photographer and have been searching around for the metal CD tins. Where did you get yours?


Leave a Reply

