ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Engagement: Stephanie and Chris, Kansas City Plaza and Union Station March 3, 2009

This past weekend was freezing. The day before this shoot, we had several inches of snowfall… the kind that’s good for sledding, snowball fights, and viewing from the warmth of your couch with a cup of hot cocoa. Yet, I didn’t do any of those things… no, instead, I opted for two engagement sessions! :)

We had planned to do Stephanie and Chris’ shoot on the Plaza, and after our fingers and toes started to get very numb, we added on a quick stop at Union Station for some indoor photos. 

Despite the cold, we had a great time. I love meeting people who are joyful, loving and IN love — people like Stephanie and Chris. I’m even more disappointed after meeting them in person that I can’t photograph their wedding this summer, but I am so glad that I got a chance to get to know them. Stephanie found me on Google… but as it turns out, we have tons of mutual friends! Just more proof that the world is a very, very small place.

This shot is the very first one of the day. I knew right away that this would be one fun session! :)

sc13

sc121

sc21

Don’t they have the best smiles?! I love how natural they were in front of the camera, and how comfortable they were together!

sc9

sc11

The dancing was totally unscripted… I love it when my clients just “run with it” and really make their session their own! Too cute!

sc8

I loooove this one:

sc7

Okay, and this one, too! Maybe I love this one more… what do you think?

sc10

A little wide-angle action outside of Union Station:

sc1

sc6

I really like their photos in black and white. There’s a timeless love story quality about them. :)

sc3

sc5

And finally, my favorite image from the day! I love these cuddly-cute engagement photos! :)

sc4

Stephanie and Chris, thanks so much for asking me to photograph this special time in your relationship! I hope everything goes so well with the wedding plans and a very happy marriage (and med school, Chris!).

Friends and family can click here to sign the guestbook for the online album and be automatically notified when all of the photos are available online!

 

4 Responses to “Engagement: Stephanie and Chris, Kansas City Plaza and Union Station”

  1. Gary Says:

    AWESOME photos Erica! Nice work! I’m sure the happy couple will cherish these for years to come.

    Gary

  2. Abby White Says:

    One of those mutual friends would be me! :)

    Erica – as always, you did an amazing job on these photos!

    And to Steph – Congrats, pal! You guys look head over heels in love!

  3. Lindsay Says:

    Wow Erica. You did a great job! Steph who knew you were so photogenic. : )

  4. Betsy Says:

    Erica, you always do such a great job. Beautiful, beautiful. Loving the locations lately- esp. the ‘West Bottoms’ (or whatever it’s called) and Union Station.
    I love seeing that you’ve put up a new post- I learn so much. I just linked to your friend Sarah Jeanne’s blog and saw what she wrote about you. ‘Seems like you are spreading the sunshine all over the place. Good for you. I really appreciate your help and encouragement, as well as your professional demeanor. Thanks so much!


Leave a Reply

