ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

You can make a difference… and I can give you great portraits! :) May 12, 2009

I am so excited to share with you an amazing opportunity to not only get some great portraits, but to make a real difference. If you’ve been following this blog for very long at all, you’ll remember that I volunteer every year with an organization called Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership (HOBY) — a non-profit organization that hosts youth leadership camps at local sites, which are all planned and executed by volunteers.

I went through the HOBY program as a high school sophomore, and I can honestly say that it changed my life. I know that sounds completely cliche and  a little bit silly, but it did. I explored new topics like entrepreneurship (and look what I’m doing today!), met amazing people (you know, like my husband!), discovered my passion for volunteerism, and really discovered who I was as a leader. I have since returned every year to volunteer on the staff… and now I’m the Program Director, which basically means I plan the schedule of the four-day seminar and recruit speakers who will undoubtedly change other lives.

HOBY‘s mission is to empower young leaders and teach them how to think, not what to think. The entire local seminar (serving 125 sophomores from across the state of Kansas) is about exploring different and important topics, asking questions and interacting with leaders in fields like education, the media, volunteerism, business, medicine, etc. It’s an experience that puts a big emphasis on leadership through service.Since HOBY is a non-profit organization and is run by volunteers on the local level, there’s quite a bit of fundraising and behind-the-scenes tasks that our staff at HOBY Kansas works hard on all year long. I am so blessed to be a part of the team of people who dedicate so much time, effort, energy, resources and heart to HOBY year after year. So, in order to help give back to an organization that has given so much to me (besides letting me meet my super sweet husband!), I’ve decided to offer you all an awesome opportunity to be a part of something great.

Today through June 7th, every single portrait session that takes place will be discounted to $150.00 — as long as your check is made out to Kansas HOBY! That’s right… you will not only save money, but send some directly to support a great cause. How does that sound? :) Each portrait session will include a one-hour shoot at an outdoor location, an online gallery of images and a disc of your edited, high-resolution digital files! Seriously, it doesn’t get any better than this.

Time slots will fill up fast and your session has to take place before June 7th (the HOBY seminar is the next week). I will mainly be doing these sessions in the Kansas City area, although I should have a few Wichita area appointments available as well! To reserve your session, just send me an email: me[at]ericamay[dot]com.

And, because this is a photography blog… here are a few photos from different types of portrait sessions that qualify for this opportunity!

Children and families (perfect for a Father’s Day gift):

portrait1

Engagements, anniversaries, or “just because” photos of couples:

portrait7

Seniors, headshots or individual portraits (because everyone deserves great photos of themselves!):

portrait6

Babies and newborns:

portrait9

Pets! With a family or without… I love pets. :)

portrait3

Don’t delay — you can make a difference today (and get some sweet portraits out of the deal!). Contact me via e-mail: me[at]ericamay[dot]com to schedule your appointment early. Remember, all sessions have to take place before June 5th (just in time for Father’s Day!).

How can we make a difference together? This is one way. :)

 

5 Responses to “You can make a difference… and I can give you great portraits! :)”

  1. jenifriend Says:

    i’m so excited to meet you on 5.28!

  2. […] others who are interested in taking part in our portrait special to benefit HOBY, click here for the details!   Comments […]

  3. […] two photographers who wanted new head shots! Kristen and Jeni responded to take advantage of my portrait special to benefit HOBY, and I was excited to meet them in person after they’ve been so sweet to follow my blog and […]

  4. […] organization (HOBY)! She does a much much better job of explaining her cause in her blog post: You Can Make A Difference!  So if you’re in the KC area and you are looking for some AWESOME portraits, please […]

  5. Anon Says:

    Hi Erica,

    I wanted to bring to your attention a fake profile on Facebook which is using your image. I haven’t been able to report it since I’m not the owner. Here is the profile: https://m.facebook.com/Honey440?fref=nf

    You can see he uploaded an image taken by you as his profile picture. Please report it.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

