ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Operation: Love Reunited Portraits at Liberty Memorial, Downtown Kansas City May 12, 2009

I recently met up with this family, really soon after their soldier returned home from his deployment for a reunion shoot! I was so excited to do an Operation: Love Reunited session for this family — all of them together and happy on a beautiful spring day in Kansas City.

oplove-har13

oplove-har10

oplove-har12

oplove-har7

Having a little fun:

oplove-har9

What a beautiful family!

oplove-har11

oplove-har14

oplove-har8

Love from their dad… these are just so cute:

oplove-har6

oplove-har5

I had to use a few tricks to get these little guys to look into the camera… :) Sometimes I have to be a little bit sneaky! :) It worked, though! 

oplove-har4

oplove-har3

oplove-har2

oplove-har1

Thanks so much for scheduling your session with me! It was so nice to meet you… I’m glad I got to meet the WHOLE family! :) Enjoy your time together, and welcome home!

The photos and other content of this publication do not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the Department of Defense.

 

6 Responses to “Operation: Love Reunited Portraits at Liberty Memorial, Downtown Kansas City”

  1. Brenda Says:

    Erica,
    We love the pictures and can’t wait to see the rest of them. Thank you so much for taking pictures of the families with deployed members. It is such a wonderful thing to have these moments captured. Our pictures are just what we had hoped for. Again, thank you so much!!

    Tha Harding family

  2. Joyce P. Says:

    What great pictures! What a nice thing to do……..
    I’m glad for you that Doug’s home, too.

  3. Sheila Says:

    Brenda and Doug, what great photos!! What a beautiful family and glad you are all back together!!
    Take care,

  4. Mary Ellen Says:

    Hi Erica, I have been reading your blog for a while now and really admire your photography! I am trying to learn as much as I can about photography and I have a question for you! I would love to get better at taking portraits and you are just so good at it!! Can you give me any tips about how you get kids to warm up to you taking their pictures and how you make people feel at ease in front of the camera? Your pictures always look so natural and always seem to capture the perfect moments. I know you must be super busy but I would really love to hear any advice you have if you have a chance!! Not sure if you can see it from where I typed it above, but my email is daisymel_18@hotmail.com. Thanks so so much!!
    Mary Ellen =)

  5. ericamay Says:

    Mary Ellen, I sent you an e-mail with some of the tips and tricks I use when photographing children! :) I hope it’s helpful!

  6. Really outstanding work Erica. You have a community-minded approach to your business which emphasized serving others. I will be checking out Love Reunited to see how I can help too.


Leave a Reply

