ericamay photography blog: thought studio.

The photo blog of www.ericamay.com.

Kansas City Engagement Session: Michael and Sara at Union Station and Crown Center July 7, 2009

Nine years ago. Okay, almost nine years ago. It was then that Michael and Sara started their love story. And today, nine years later, I have the extreme privilege of capturing their engagement and upcoming wedding this fall.

I met Michael through HOBY, which by now I’m sure you’ve all heard of if you’ve been reading this blog for very long. Michael joined our volunteer team and brought along his infectious smile and willing attitude. Everybody loves Michael. They have to. He’s just that kind of guy.

But nobody loves Michael the way Sara does. It was awesome to see the two of them interact together during their photo shoot. They have history. The kind of history that makes two people completely comfortable around one another, and the kind that allows them to be silly and have fun and share little moments together, even in front of my camera lens. 

I am so excited to share these photos with you, from our engagement session tonight in the Union Station/Crown Center area of downtown Kansas City.

msblog08 copy

msblog01 copy

msblog05 copy

msblog03 copy

Seriously… these two are cute! :)

msblog02 copy

msblog09 copy

I love the patterns that Union Station’s architecture creates:

msblog04 copy

I love summertime engagement sessions! The light is always so warm and beautiful.

msblog06 copy

Okay, I couldn’t resist posting this one — they’re so cute it’s killing me… :)

msblog07 copy

I asked Sara to take off her shoes for this one, so she’s be shorter. I wasn’t planning on doing a full-length shot… but I like it too much! :)

msblog10 copy

I love the steps that lead up to Liberty Memorial across the street.

msblog11 copy

msblog12 copy

As we were walking to the fountains at Union Station, I noticed these awesome patterns reflected onto the wall by one of the taller buildings downtown — they look like huge flowers to me. Of course, we stopped for a few photos. I love this!

msblog13 copy

The fountains are super fun. It’s a great place for kids to play in the summer, and a neat stop for engagement photos. :)

msblog15 copy

msblog14 copy

msblog16 copy

And the picnic tables are really cute with their bright colors. I also love the expression on Sara’s face in this one:

msblog17 copy

Michael and Sara, Jeff and I are so excited to photograph your wedding in October. You have no idea! :)

 

3 Responses to “Kansas City Engagement Session: Michael and Sara at Union Station and Crown Center”

  1. Michael Says:

    Erica these are gorgeous. It seriously brought a tear to my eye because they are that amazing! You do tremendous work and I am so glad that we picked you to be a part of our special day. Thank you so much!

  2. jenifriend Says:

    these are great erica! i did a session at union station/liberty memorial as well…i’ll be posting those this week so be sure to swing by. it’s amazing the variance in perspective each photographer can get of the same location!!

  3. excellent website ,wedding photographers


Leave a Reply

